Belief vs. Knowledge

1.  Do you think we should respect the beliefs of a racist or sexist person? Provide reasons. If possible, find a recent article or video that could be used to question this.

I think there are times when we should take into consideration the beliefs of sexist or racist people. It all depends on the situation. If we were to disregard everything they say, we would have biased opinions. But, in a situation similar to women’s voting rights (for example), we should not base all of our thoughts on the ideas of a sexist man. A man recently murdered eight people in a Sikh Temp  in Wisconsin because of his belief in white supremacy. Obviously, we should not forgive him in any way just because he believes that. An article regarding one of the victim’s sons can be read here: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/09/19/sikh-temple-shooting-hearing-fbi-hate-crimes_n_1898711.html

2.  Find some examples of beliefs (modern or throughout History) that you think are both misguided and dangerous.

The Holocaust  –  Killing the Jews was wrong

Nativism  –  Belief that non-Americans were gross, lesser beings

3.  Watch and comment on one of the videos we did not watch in class. What are your thoughts and questions? What do they say about knowledge? Memory? Intuition? Truth? Belief?

For this assignment, I watched the TedX talk regarding “is there a real you? What makes you you?” It really made me change the paradigm in which I think of myself and other people. Prior to this lecture, I was thinking of myself as a being that has experienced and learned a lot of things. But, following the talk, I began realizing that I am made up of my parts: experiences, stories, personality, knowledge, etc. The example that the speaker used in his talk was a watch. Everyone understands that the pieces together makes a watch. It didn’t start out as a watch and we attached hands and a face. The main point of the lecture was to make the listeners realize that there is no “you” that you have to search for and realize. There is only the “you” that is the make up of your past. Overall, this video really made sense to me and made me alter the way I was thinking about myself and other people: not as one complete thing but as an ever-growing human.

Leave a Reply

